h1

Thanksgiving et al

November 28, 2008

I had to work until 7 AM on Thanksgiving so, needless to say, it was an exhausting day! I left work, went home, showered, and took Kyle to a race. I was so tired and cold that I only took 4 pictures of the race and only one of them is (barely) worthy of posting.

race1

There are few times in life when I wish I was taller than my petite 5′ 2″, but this was one of those times. There are almost 900 people waiting behind that starting line! Obviously my vertical challenge got in the way of depicting this well.

Sarah was with me as we waited for Kyle to cross the finish line. He had his best 10K time, but not his best overall. He finished in roughly 59:56. Generally 10K races take him over an hour. This race was relatively flat, but there was a nasty SW wind that greeted the runners during the last 2 miles or so to the finish line. I had a horrible position at the finish, and just as Kyle was about to finish, someone stepped in front of me, so I got no finishing photo! Bummer!

After the race we went to my in-laws for dinner. I requested an early dinner since I knew I wouldn’t get any real sleep until after dinner. We ate around 1 PM. I kept thinking it was later in the day than it was and my body never did adjust. I frequently go without enough sleep without too many side effects, but yesterday I just couldn’t figure out what time of day it was. Perhaps my weird schedule has thrown me off. Normally I work 5 nights, sleeping during the day, then have two nights off and sleep those 2 nights. Last week and this I worked 3 nights, had 1 night off, worked 1 night, had 2 nights off, worked 2 nights, had 1 night off, and now I have 2 nights to work, then 2 nights off, and back to my normal schedule. I guess my body is confused!

Oh, here is the feast my mother-in-law prepared. It was yummy!

yummy-spread

bird-carving

apple-pie

pumpkin-pie

Completely unrelated, but in my camera when I loaded the Thanksgiving pictures, I went to Starbucks the other day (shocker, I know!) and saw this in the parking lot…

silly-bird-1

silly-bird-2

silly-bird-3

There is an apple tree of some sort next to Starbucks and the apples are frequently all over the ground and in the parking lot. Apparently this seagull found this one appetizing. When I backed out of my parking space and began driving toward the bird and his apple, I got quite a squawking at. I wasnt’ sure the bird was going to move. Its mouth was full of apple, so it couldn’t carry the apple to safety as I drove through. I didn’t run over the apple which is probably just as well, for I think that bird would have ‘bombed’ my car if I had!

3 comments

  1. GOOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooo. Kyle!!! Good job! Sounds like he had an excellent run! We could have used him at the mall early this morning!!! hehehe

    Wow, the spread at the in-law’s is GORGEOUS! Madeline, if you read this, KUDOS to you! Everything was making me DROOL all over the laptop!!!!

    Carly, I tell you, in that second picture of the gull, it is OBVIOUS it is **really** aggrevated with you and your camera! You are really getting a good workout with that new lens! life is looking a lot different, isn’t it?


  2. Thanks, Katya. I think the best part of that feast, and all the effort that went into it, was that everything was soy-free and “Sarah-safe”! She had a huge dinner, and even after multiple visits to the fridge for evening leftovers, she reported no ill-effects from anything she ate.


  3. Ummm….Thanksgiving was long ago! WHERE are your NEW posts?????
    hehehehe



Leave a comment