h1

Ganondagan Part II: Culture

August 3, 2010

I had so many pictures from our visit to the Ganondagan that I have broken them up into 3 separate posts. The first was all pictures of people. The third will be flowers that I photographed, so this post is everything else. For lack of a better term, I chose culture because many of the pictures show just that, cultural aspects of the Native American people, both past and present.

We were visiting Ganondagan during a Native American arts and music festival so there were many vendors selling their wares. This particular table caught my attention because of all the colors and the wind making the feathers dance.

There was a silent auction going on and this was one of the items up for bid.

I wish I had been on the other side of these flags, so the words weren’t backwards, but again, bright colors, wind blown fabric, and my attention was all over it!

I was never a big fan of history in school, but when I was a little girl, I remember studying about long houses. I even remember making a model of one for a project. For some reason, the idea of a long house has always fascinated me. It’s probably just the construction I’m attracted to, but I’m not sure. Whenever I see a model of one anywhere, I have to check it out, study it, imagine life in it… Soooo, when I saw that there was one that I could walk into, I was thrilled! Here are my impressions of it.

This statue caught my attention while we were walking toward the long house. There is a plaque below it thanking people and organizations who generously donated money to make the long house possible.

Later in the day, Mom and I went around to the back of the main tent to get better pictures of the dancers. When we were finished and had turned to walk back around the tent, this is what we saw…

I’m not sure what prompted this little one to pose with the statues, but it sure was funny. He stood there for quite a while.

Throughout the day, this hawk kept flying around. Mom wondered out loud, at one point, how they got the hawk to fly around during the festival. It did almost seem as though the hawk was an intentional part of the experience.

One more Ganondagan post to follow; stay tuned for the flora…

2 comments

  1. […] Imagery My life through my camera lens « Ganondagan Part II: Culture Ganondagan Part III: Flora August 3, 2010 If you haven’t seen the first two posts […]


  2. Carly, the atmosphere was so terrific that day…your photos are alive with such vivid color. Man, I wish every day offered such splendid lighting! Of course, this festival was so colorful and wonderful to photograph!!!!



Leave a Reply

