h1

Ganondagan Part I: People

August 3, 2010

After taking a trip to Corning Museum of Glass on Saturday, we went to the Ganondagan on Sunday. It is a Native American historic site, about 30 minutes from Rochester. Jeff has talked about going there for about 15 years, but we kept putting it off. Last weekend (July 24-25) there was a native American music and arts festival going on there, so we decided to make time and go. I invited my Mom along, as she really wanted to see/hear the Navajo code talker that was going to be there. I am so glad we went. I took over 300 pictures and the vast majority of them turned out, so I am posting about our visit in 3 separate entries, as there are way too many pictures for one.

I don’t believe these pictures need explanation.

This is Bill Toledo, one of the Navajo Code Talkers that served in the USMC during WWII. He is 86 years old, but don’t let his age fool you, he is as sharp as a tack. He stood for over an hour and shared story after story from the war. I could have listened to him for hours.

These Marines, shown with Mr. Toledo, stood with him the entire time he talked and barely moved. It was a very hot day and inside the tent it felt oppressive. I think I would have passed out if I’d had to stand there all that time!

Being a people watcher, I was fascinated by all the colors and textures in the clothing. The whole experience was great, but listening to the stories from Mr. Toledo was amazing.

2 comments

  1. […] 2010 If you haven’t seen the first two posts about our Ganondagan visit, you can see people here, or culture here. We took a walk on a trail through the woods and some fields and there was a ton […]


  2. Carly, love your people pics! I still laugh about that song with the women dancing with the line “Baby, you’re driving me crazy!”

    I wish there were more events like this….it was so much fun. And yes, Bill Toledo ROCKED! That man is amazing!!!!!!!



Leave a Reply

