h1

Corning Museum of Glass

August 2, 2010

Erin’s 11th birthday was July 28th, which was also in the middle of a week of intense hockey camp. Figuring that last weekend would be the better time to do something for her birthday, I asked her what she wanted to do. She had mentioned the possibility of going to Corning to visit CMOG, but that was a couple of weeks ago. This time when I asked her, she said she wanted to go to my Mom’s house and swim with the kids. When I suggested going to CMOG, she was pretty excited, then when I suggested stopping at my Mom’s on the way home so she could swim awhile, she got really excited. So that is what we did. My mom, Mark, Michelle, Ben, my in-laws, Jeff, our kids and I all went. It was fantastic and the price was definitely right. All 3 adult couples had Entertainment books with BOGO coupons for the museum. We all also had AAA memberships, so it cost each couple $11.90 to get in and all kids, 19 and under, get in free. What a deal!

There was so much to see and do that I don’t think we covered even half of what was there. Photography was a challenge, as flash is not allowed. I took a lot of pictures, but many were too dark, or slightly out of focus, so here are a few of my favorites.

Yup, science nerd that I am, I had to take a picture of a Periodic Table in glass!

There was a children’s book that featured this guy, but I didn’t take the time to read through it. I think the dragon is pretty cool though.

Dale Chihuly makes the coolest things out of glass! I took about 15 pictures of this and wasn’t thrilled with any of them. What I wanted to do, should have done, was lay on the floor underneath this and photograph it. I also probably should have used the shorter lens, but it was late in the day, I was tired, and I didn’t figure I’d be able to get off the floor once I got down onto it. Oh well. I guess it’s an okay picture.

Not sure what this is, but it’s cool looking.

Jeff and Sarah decided this looks like something from Superman.

Nautiloid?

Since we were going there to celebrate Erin’s birthday, I bought her a ticket to make her own pendant out of glass.  We had to venture to a different building for this, so as we walked outside, in the oppressive heat and humidity, I snapped a couple of pictures. These colorful flags caught my attention. Everything there was pretty cool to look at. The grounds were pretty and the buildings all had interesting shapes and architecture, but it really was too hot to stay outside for long and take pictures!

While we waited for Erin’s turn to make her pendant, we checked out some neat glass pieces made by students of the glass center.

Although beautiful to look at, I think one might find a bite of this fruit painful…

An “eye”pod?

Behind the area where Erin was working on her pendant, there were several students blowing glass. We watched for a while, until everyone was hungry and overheated.

From glowing glob of glass…

…to not quite finished, glowing vase.

This just looks cool…or hot!

After our adventure at CMOG, we headed to my Mom’s house where the kids planned to swim. Jeff and I got there first and sat on the porch enjoying the peace and quiet of the Bristolwood, when it began rumbling, loudly! Then the thunder began cracking, and eventually, after everyone else arrived, it began to downpour.  It looked as thought the kids might not be able to swim, but then the sky cleared and they went in the pool for an hour or so.

I went into the kitchen and Michelle was washing dishes, so I kicked her out and finished them for her, so she could swim. As I was washing the dishes, I looked out the window to see Ben and Sarah with jugs on their heads. By the time I got the camera, Kyle had put one on.

Erin and Michelle enjoyed the hot tub while the rowdy kids played in the pool.

The frog guardian looked on as they played.

While the kids played outside, Angus posed for a couple of pictures.

Okay, so he was begging, not posing, but in the next one while he was begging, I called his name, and this is what he did…

We had a very enjoyable day, but when we left we had to take a detour, as two roads on the way home were washed out from the heavy rains. On the way, we encountered a dog that was wandering up the side of the road, then a little ways later, a guy walked up out of a ditch and onto the road. It was a rather bizarre ride, so I was quite happy to arrive home in one piece without having hit anything.

Leave a Reply

