h1

Yikes!

May 11, 2010

Where has the time gone? I have been meaning to post for days, but there always seems to be something else that needs my attention. The last week or so I’ve had something going on everyday and I just haven’t had the energy at the end of the day to post.

Last Saturday, May 1st, Kyle ran a race in a nearby town. This was a new race this year, so there was a fairly small field of, only about 80, runners. For the first time in the three years he has been running, Kyle won first in his age group. He was rather pleased, so it was pretty cool!

Before the start of the race, the runners were getting some instructions about the course.

This is the timing company that was timing the race. They are an incredible group of people. The owners also own a running store where they sell running shoes and apparel. They also host weekly running workouts and workshops on various topics that are important to runners. They are great people!

Erin had been under the weather the week prior to this race, but was starting to feel better, and wanted to go watch. I figured the sun would do her some good, so we sat and waited for Kyle to finish. She still looked a little pale, but she enjoyed the warmth of the sunshine on her.

Here’ s Kyle finishing eleventh overall, first in his age division.

On Thursday, my in-laws called to see if I wanted to go to the park to check out the lilacs. I, of course, couldn’t pass up an opportunity to take some pictures… I took an awful lot of pictures though, so I think I’ll put them in a separate post.

After a crazy, busy week, I had a chiropractic appointment on Friday. I was a bit ahead of schedule, so I went down to the lake to see if I could find the swans. Not only did I find them, but they were right on the shore preening, so I got some great close ups!

This swan was cracking me up. If I tried to stand on one leg and crane my neck around, I would be on the ground. This silly swan spent a very long time on one foot…pretty impressive!

There was also a goose.

We had planned a trip on Saturday to Canada to visit our favorite hockey store. I was going to take Joe to the dachshund parade in the morning, then we were going to leave at noon to go to Canada. Since we were supposed to have 50+ mph winds over the weekend, the parade was cancelled. I suppose the organizers were afraid we’d have dachshund kites… It turned out that it was a good thing that we left earlier than planned, since the owners of our favorite hockey store are in the process of closing the business and don’t keep their regular hours. They have been selling hockey equipment for 40 years and are now ready to move on to the next chapter in their lives. It was a bittersweet visit. These people are amazing. They just love helping people and we will very much miss them. Erin, although having never been there before, loved the place and said she was very sad that they were closing. Since they are closing, we got rock bottom pricing. She got a HUGE discount on a pair of very high-end leg pads and she also got a great glove and blocker. In the end, she got all 3 for less than the original sale cost of the leg pads. Kyle also got a new pair of skates. He had been wearing a pair of Jeff’s skates that are about 2 sizes too big for Kyle.

Erin was just a little excited…

A close up of her awesome blocker.

As we were waiting to cross the border, back into the US, I took a shot of the flags. I think they show fairly well how windy it was.

Since this post is now ridiculously long, I’ll post the rest of my pictures from the week in a separate post.

2 comments

  1. Congratulations, Kyle, on the race! That is just awesome!

    Carly, if you tried to stand on one leg and crane your neck around, I think someone might call the men in the white coats!!! hehehehe

    Looks like the visit to Canada was worthwhile! Wedon’t hve passports and don’t know if we’ll ever cross the border again. Hate it that they made that new law….


  2. Way to go, Kyle!



Leave a Reply

