h1

Beautiful day…

April 25, 2010

…for a drive. After the kids ran yesterday morning, I was not really ready to go home and saty indoors. It was a beautiful day and I wanted to be outdoors. The only problem with that was that I was overly tired from staying up to watch the hockey game the night before and then getting up early to take the kids to run. I was also having a bad pain day. For whatever reason, I was okay in the morning, but by early afternoon I was in a significant amount of pain. My right hip just wouldn’t cooperate and no position made it more comfortable. Jeff eventually talked me into taking some ibuprofen and we set out for some unknow adventure.

We filled the Jeep with gas and stopped at Gander Mountain for a drink for Jeff. I think he just wanted to wander through the store without kids. He likes it there a lot, which cracks me up because he neither hunts, nor fishes, and he is definitely NOT a redneck. Anyway, we wandered and looked at just about everything they sell, then set out again. I was starving, so we stopped at Wendy’s and I got a cheddar, broccoli baked potato. As I ate, Jeff said he was going to drive wherever, get us lost, and my job would be to get us home. We don’t have GPS in the Jeep, so he calls me his CPS (Carly Positioning System) since I always seem to know which way to go. We wound up near Mendon Ponds, so I suggested we drive through the park.  As we were nearing an intersection, we noticed a field…

Do you see them? Clicking to enlarge the pictures may be necessary.

They were on Jeff’s side so he offered to turn around so I could take pictures, since I almost never leave home without my camera, lol!

The one in the center stayed at that scrub for probably 10 minutes. I couldn’t figure out what it found so appealing about it, since there was fresh, young grass all around. Now that I’ve looked more closely at the picture, I think it was after the new leaves and buds.

While we were sitting there, this deer stopped and stared awhile.

We were only about 100 meters from the deer and I am sure they could here the shutter everytime I took a picture. They would stop and look up at us often, but they didn’t seem too threatened. I told Jeff they probably thought the Jeep was a giant, mutant deer since it’s about the same color as the deer.

There were two adult sized does, and two smaller deer. I don’t know how long they stay with their mothers, but one of the youngsters was much larger than the other. The smaller of the two was lame though, so I don’t know if that had something to do with its smaller size or not.

I decided I had enough pictures, so Jeff pulled up the road a little and turned around. As we started driving back toward the deer, they decided to cross the road. Three of them went into the woods, but the gimpy one stopped and posed for me. If you look, you can see that it is favoring its front right leg.

It looks as though it is smilng in this picture. I think it wanted to make sure I got its good side, lol!

If you enlarge this last picture, you should be able to see the deer looking up at the leaves in the tree, almost as if to say “how do I get those?”

After photographing deer for about 15 minutes, we finally moved on. We drove around a while longer, then decided we’d go out for a bite to eat. We had dinner at a Japanese restaurant that we had a coupon for, then we hit the bookstore across the parking lot. By that time my hip was getting even more sore and I really wanted to go home, but Jeff loves bookstores and doesn’t often get to wander through. I was patient for a little while, but then he relented and took me home. All in all it was a great day. I am not often in a place where it is convenient or safe to pull over and photograph wildlife, so that was definitely a treat. Date nights are always a treat too!

Oh, I almost forgot, we got home just in time to see the Penguins score the game winning goal against Ottowa, advancing them to the semifinals! Yay Penguins!

One comment

  1. Cool set of deer photos!



Leave a Reply

