h1

Visiting

March 16, 2010

This past weekend, my sister-in-law, Julie, was in town with her two girls. While she was here, my husband’s cousin, Kate, came to visit with her four kids. I am not a small child person. I like to observe them from afar. I can typically interact well with wee ones and even elicit the occasional smile, but I usually choose not to, interact that is. My mother-in-law invited me to visit while everyone was here, so I bravely went over. I was pleasantly surprised when I got there however. With 6 kids aged 16 months to 6 years (I think) I imagined horror, but to my (pleasant) surprise they were all (fairly) quietly playing and hanging out. I must admit though, I realized just how very thankful I am that my kids are teens and tween. I can’t fathom chasing toddlers around at this point. I think I would crack up! Anyway, I got a few nice pictures. They were all very active, so I got a lot of “half” pictures…you know, someone was cute and perfectly framed until I snapped the picture, then they half disappeared from the frame…oh, well!

Landon was a hoot. He is such a happy baby! Kate says he isn’t fond of clothes, so he ran around in his shirt, socks, and diaper. His goal that afternoon was to escape the family room, but Kate kept him occupied with toys and things and hugs…he loves to give her hugs. Very cute!

Violet, Landon’s twin, seemed to just want her mom. She played a little, but never much more than an arms length from her mom. It’s funny how a set of twins could be so different.

Sarah came into the family room and asked if we liked her new backpack. Apparently Lily makes a good backpack. Lily had me laughing pretty hard by the time I left. She spent most of the time I was there in the living room with the older kids playing on the piano. Shortly before my kids and I left, she told me about her mom’s new camera, and her new shoes, and I don’t remember what else. She strikes me as the kid who might repeat what you’ve said in anger…to the person about whom you said it, lol! I love the bribed smile in this picture. She was hiding her head against Sarah until Kate offered her candy (gummy something-or-others) if she’d smile…too funny! Great result though!

Since Lily got a piggy back ride, Logan got one too. I didn’t talk to Logan much, but he seems like a sweety that is very helpful to his mom. I like his smile…uncoerced, lol!

Jessica and Diana weren’t quite sure what to do with so many little people around. Diana just sort of zoned out into her own little world, watching a movie while the kids played. Jessica seemed to enjoy the bigger kids, hanging out with them in the living room.

It was nice to see all the kids. I hadn’t seen the twins and only saw Lily as a baby quite some time ago. It was nice to see their mom’s too!

2 comments

  1. Great shots! And I could see Violet’s photo just fine. Such fun!


  2. Wow Carly…Madeline is one brave woman!! hehehe Looks like a cute group of kids! Seems like when that many kids get together, though, they often are good. You got nice photos, too!!!!



Leave a Reply

