h1

Feed the Birds

February 3, 2010

We have a terrific park nearby that has lots of trails, lots of relief, and lots of wildlife. The relief is the result of glacial activity…a geologist dream, but I was there today for the wildlife, not the geology. On the way there we stopped and picked up some wild bird seed so we could feed the birds…and squirrels! I’ll let the pictures do the majority of the talking…

The look on Erin’s face in the pictures above is incredible. Just pure delight at such a simple thing. It gave me the chills when I first went through the pictures. She loved it! Afterwards she described how it felt to have the little birds on her fingers. In fact, all three kids commented on how it felt, and they all described it differently…talk about a teachable moment!

As we moved a bit further up the trail, I got directly behind Erin and got the next two shots. I was giddy as I pulled them up to edit. I only adjusted the brightness and contrast a touch.

I think the chickadees particularly liked Kyle, since they and his gloves are colored similarly…

I have been trying for years to get an excellent picture of a cardinal. They are very shy and flightly. As I was photographing other birds my family informed me there was a cardinal directly behind me. I turned and captured this.

Not bad, but still not great. Then I found this female, which baffled me because she looks nothing like the three females that live in my yard.

Then, the amazing happened…a clear, unobstructed, nearby view of a male. I don’t know how I didn’t shake and make the picture blurry, but here it is!

By FAR, the best shot I have ever gotten of a male redbird!!! Yeah, I’m still giddy about it!

I’ll end this post with my favorite picture from the day. All I can say is, “Are you talkin’ to me?”

The squirrels had me laughing at their silly antics. However, this post has many pictures, and I took many more of the silly squirrels, so I will post them tomorrow…soemething to entice you back, hahaha!

2 comments

  1. Those photos are marvelous! What a great way to spend an afternoon. We’ve got to do it again……soon.


  2. Gads, I thought I had left a comment here last night. Perhaps I was so tired, I was dreaming! Anyway, I LOVE the photos! They are fantastic! And I am jealous of the cardinal as none came close enough when I was there! Great job, Carly! Looks like everyone had a really good time!



Leave a Reply

