h1

C-C-Cold Ice Skating!

January 31, 2010

The kids have been bugging to go skating lately and since I can’t skate now, I keep putting them off. This morning however, I decided it would be a good day to go to the outdoor rink nearby. It was only 8 degrees F when I told the kids I’d take them, but by the time we got there, it was a balmy 10 F.  Jeff decided he wouldn’t skate this time out either. He’d watch, I’d take pictures and the kids could just have some fun. There were not many people there, as I suspected, probably because it was so cold out. Here are some of the results from the afternoon.

Erin is not typically a smug child, but it took some effort for her to learn how to do a good hockey stop. This is the look on her face after stopping directly in front of Jeff and me at one point. Rather smug if you ask me!

It was rather amusing watching her skate today. She is a really good skater, but has not been on the ice without full goal equipment since sometime in the summer. It was hysterical watching her skate with her feet a mile apart. Jeff explained that goal pads force you to bend your knees and with the extra bulk and wieght, it is somewhat difficult to skate without them once you are used to skating with them.

My motley bunch!

I am not certain whether or not Kyle could actually see…  I guess he was probably trying to keep his face warm, but I think he looked a lot like a thug…a smiley thug, but a thug nonetheless.

Sarah’s glasses kept fogging up, so she finally took them off and gave them to us to hold. Everytime she went past she would squint at us…

Erin typically likes having her picture taken, but she did eventually get sick of the camera, as is evidenced here…

You can skate, but you cannot hide!

I thought this picture was cool because Sarah, who couldn’t see us anyway, was fuzzy and squinting, while Kyle, behind her, was in focus.

I don’t know what happened to cause him to fall, but it was pretty impressive. He very smoothly slid to the ice and glided in a half circle, stopping as he is in this picture.

Sarah’s tolerance for the camera pointed only at her is pretty low. This is her “is this really necessary?” face! Or maybe it’s the “Mom, you are on my last nerve” face. Either way, I found it amusing!

Um, I really have no idea!

Check out those laces!

I’m not sure if Sarah was pushing Erin, or if they were playing train.

I took the color out of this picture, then put the blue hat back in and Erin decided that her eyes should be a very bright blue, so she chose her eye color. Although not terribly realistic, it is a pretty cool effect.

4 comments

  1. What great pictures Carly! It looks as if the kids had a grand time. I have never been ice skating and they made me feel as if I may want to try it.


  2. Carly, those are some fantastic photos of the day out! Wow, Sarah’s cheeks look SOOOOOOO cold!!!!! It looks like everyone was enjoying the fresh air. That last picture is wild! I wonder how long it has been since I skated? Hmmm….


  3. Looks like they all had a great time! Jillian wants to skate on an outside rink so bad. We keep thinking we will make it on a trip somewhere with one.

    Some awesome pictures!


  4. What a great set of photos! I know the kids have been hoping to get out there this winter, and they look as if it was worth the wait.
    I grew up with outdoor rinks (mostly ponds and creeks), and I remember how great it feels to skate out there. Wish we’d been able to meet you there, but will definitely go next time.

    That does NOT mean I’ve decided to lace up a pair of skates in my “golden years”*U*



Leave a Reply

