h1

Corbett’s Glen

November 8, 2009

I have lived in the Rochester area longer than I have lived anywhere else and only just found this gem! I dragged bribed Jeff into going with us. We all had a good time and got some good exercise.

tunnel

The journey starts by passing through a tunnel into the park. It has a rather narrow road/bridge that empties into a clearing…with a private residence… It is the type of place that woud be cool to live, if it wasn’t in the midddle, literally, of a public park. At the end of the tunnel, there is a waterfall. Being a lover of moving water I took many pictures, but I’ll only share one.

waterfall

The path through the park is made up of landscape fabric covered with mulch and in some places gravel. As we walked along we encountered a few people carrying fishing poles. We soon came to another waterfall.

waterfall 2

Just below this waterfall is where the fishermen were. There was also a rope swing that went out over the water. I imagine in the spring, when the stream is flooded, there might be enough water to drop into, but it didn’t exactly look safe to me… maybe I’m just getting old!

By the time we got to the second waterfall, my family was getting annoyed with me. I kept finding cool things to photograph. Here are some of the things I found…

sky

Yup! It really was that gorgeous (and warm) on November 7th in upstate NY.

sarah

Sarah loves the outdoors.

Erin

Erin just loves being with us.

erin 2

This is a great bench.

family

We all tried it out. Jeff let me take his picture (choke, gasp) from across the field. Kyle was with us, but avoided getting in front of the camera. He is not fond of having his picture taken…

erin 3

Erin, on the other hand, will pose for a picture anytime!

berries

glowing

still life

fungus

vine knot

ducks

It was a gorgeous day for a walk. I think everyone had a good time. After our hike, we went to Schutt’s and got fry cakes and apple cider. That was the bribe. I told Jeff I’d take him to Schutt’s if he would go to the park with us. Truth is, I really don’t mind going to Schutt’s. There are so many fun things to look at. By the time we got home, everyone was tired.

I had to run out and do get a couple things, then it was time for dinner. We picked up an apple and cinnamon pancake mix while we were at Schutt’s so we made those for dinner. Kyle and Sarah chopped up some apples to go into them while Erin mixed the batter. Erin asked if she could cook them, so I supervised. I am fairly impressed with her willingness and ability to cook. She is not at all afraid of the stove (gas burners and all), but has a pretty healthy respect for it. I wouldn’t let her cook by herself, but supervised she does a great job. She will even put things in the oven. Hasn’t gotten quite brave enough to take anything out yet though…

5 comments

  1. The photos are beautiful. So glad you finally got to explore Corbett’s Glen, and what a beautiful day you had to do it! And what a way to end the day, with yummy treats from Schutt’s!


  2. Hey, I said you could take it, not *post* it… lol


  3. Yes, dear!


  4. Wow, it looks like you really did find a gem of a park!!! Looks like a great place to explore!!!

    Love your photos….they are all terrific!


  5. Schutt’s Cider mill. Brings back a lot of memories for me. I grew up in a house only about a mile and half from there. I was just out that way yesterday to go to my mom’s house. I regret not stopping in there!



Leave a Reply

