h1

Bad to Worse With Some Good Thrown in…

August 3, 2009

It has been a rough couple of days. On Friday morning, I began having some breathing difficulties at work. The floor crew had waxed a portion of the department directly outside the department in which I work. The humidity in the store was pretty high and there were no fans or anything pushing the fumes the other way. After a few hours and nearly passing out, I told a co-worker I needed to sit. I asked another to call our Night Crew Chief. He came over, took one look at me, and directed someone to call 9-1-1. Two paramedics and 3 firefighters later, I was taken to the hospital, feeling extremely embarrassed! At the hospital they believed I had experienced an allergic reaction to something in the wax. They gave me a couple nebulizer treatments and sent me on my way. About 12 hours later, I found myself back in respiratory distress, leading Jeff to take me to an Urgent Care facility. There they did a chest x-ray which came back negative, so the doctor assumed an irritated, inflamed airway and gave me Prednisone and an Albuterol inhaler.

Here we are 3 days later and the symptoms are worse. I went to our Worker’s Compensation doctor’s office where they determined, after another chest x-ray to rule out pneumonia, that I have Acute Chemical Bronchitis. The chemicals irritated way down into the alveoli, causing nasty respiratory symptoms. I am still, however, maintaining O2 Sats of nearly 100%, and a heart rate near 50! Sure wish I could breathe though! If I talk too much (more than a sentence) or I walk too far (more than about 10 feet) I start gasping. Taking a deep breath is almost non-existent except for right after the inhaler. The Worker’s Comp. doc increased the length and frequency of the Prednisone and also put me on a steroid inhaler.

After delivering paperwork, picking up prescriptions, and talking to people at work, we had to pick up Erin at her first day of hockey camp. We got there a little early and I carefully (at a turtly pace) walked in to take a couple pictures.

That’s her in the net.

day-1

She saw us watching and waved…silly girl!

day-1-hi-mom

day-1-too

After picking her up Sarah called and ordered dinner from a local healthy Mediterranean style place for take-out. For some reason I didn’t feel like cooking dinner, lol! While I waited in the Jeep for Jeff and Sarah to get the food, this guy came along to entertain me.Sorry they are a little fuzzy, I was shooting through the windshield.

tree-squirrel

stealthy-squirrel

silly-squirrel

Now, I am going to go rest for the rest of the night! And try to breathe…

2 comments

  1. Love the photos of Erin. Glad you got there in time to see her nice glove save.

    Rest well, and feel better SOON!


  2. Carly, great photos of Erin!

    So sorry you are having such a tough time with this breathing thing. I can kinda relate as I had some episodes of difficult breathing….makes life rather interesting.



Leave a Reply

