h1

Yummy Goodness

May 3, 2009

A couple nights ago Jeff got the idea that marinating bite-size chicken pieces in coconut milk, then grilling them as kabobs with onion, pineapple, and mushrooms would be really tasty. We picked up all the ingredients and Sarah cut up the chicken to marinate overnight in the coconut milk. This afternoon, Sarah and Erin skewered the goodies while Kyle and I fired up the grill.

grill-fire

Last summer we bought this small grill so the kids could learn how to grill. The intention this afternoon, was to have Sarah do the grilling while Jeff instructed and supervised. Kyle and I started the grill because Jeff was busy with an online gaming tournament. He was going to take over as soon as he was done. By the time Jeff came out, the charcoal was ready for cooking. Sarah had started some rice in the house to go with dinner, so she wasn’t going to be grilling…

Kyle and Erin decided to play dodge ball, then catch with tennis balls while the grill was heating up.  When Jeff came out he decided to join the fun, so guess who wound up grilling? Yup, yours truly! I do not grill well…most of the time. This time however, everything turned out perfectly. As the kabobs were grilling, I basted them in more coconut milk. I am not a big fan of coconut, but this stuff was wonderful!

yummy-goodness

Once they were all cooked, we put the pieces over rice and was it ever tasty!

yummy-goodness-2

Here are a few random shots from around the yard that I took as I was waiting for the grill to be ready.

Kyle is quite fond of turtles and gnomes. From time to time a new turtle statue will turn up in my garden.

1-turtle

2-turtles

This gnome watches over (or under) my lilac bush. He is unfortunately, not a very good watchmen. If you look over his right shoulder, you can see where a branch was violently removed from the bush. My mother-in-law bought me the bush for a present. Kyle got over zealous with the soccer ball one day and broke one of the branches, at the time amounting to almost half the bush. We called Doc Lilac and he said to tie a ribbon around the branch to hold it on and it may heal, but would likely fall off the next year. We did as he said and not only did it stay, it began to heal. That was two years ago. Earlier this spring, I removed the ribbon because the branch was sufficiently healed to hold itself up. That same afternoon, Sarah kicked the soccer ball into it, knocking the branch clean off. Needless to say, I was horrified. I don’t exactly remember what I said to her, but it was NOT nice!

gnome

Now for the lilac bush that Kyle’s trusty gnome watches over.

sensation-blossom

Although several blossoms are nearly bursting open, this is the only one that was actually open on the whole bush. This particular lilac is a sensation.

Don’t forget to tip toe through the tulips…

red-tulip

yellow-tulip

…or stop and smell them…

smelling-flowers

Erin always takes the time to stop and smell the flowers.

Above the tuplips, my forsythia bush is in it’s full splendor, which is not all that slpendid this year. I think I cut it back too far, too late last year.

forsythia

My lawn is in desperate need of mowing, but between Jeff’s allergies and my crushed finger tip, it just hasn’t gotten done. Kyle said he would mow it tomorrow. Yeah!!! It needs it…

dandelions

Dandelion soup, anyone?

This area behind the garage drives me nuts. I put down landscape fabric and a thick layer of mulch between the far side of the garage and the fence, so the kids have a “secret” entrance to the back area. The kids have drawn up landscape plans for this area, and they tell me that this is the summer when we need to “make it happen.” Hmm, we’ll see…

will-be-hang-out

I took many, many, too many pictures of the kids, which I am in the process of editing, so I will put those in a separate post tomorrow. I am exhausted and it is late, so I am turning in for the night!

3 comments

  1. Yeah! A beautiful set of Springtime photos! Love all the pretty colors. It really is here, isn’t it?

    Now I am hungry. That chicken really sounds good. But, I cannot for the life of me figure out HOW you managed to eat anything that even HINTS of coconut!!!! hehehe


  2. Be careful what you offer. Your husband likes dandelion greens. He may take you up on your offer of dandelion soup!


  3. Not from our backyard he won’t…they’ve been “tainted” by Joe…



Leave a Reply

