h1

Canal Walk

April 9, 2009

I was going through my pictures and found these that I had forgotten about. We took the kids for a walk by the canal a couple weeks ago and I took a ton of pictures. Here are a few; I will post more tomorrow. I don’t have much time right now, as I should be getting ready for work!

This is just a great picture of Sarah.

sarah

I really like the reflection in this one.

reflection

The color is what caught my attention here.

red

This character let me get a lot closer than I expected.

peek-a-boo

There was a trail through a very small wetland area adjacent to the canal. We wandered through and found this lone pair of ducks enjoying themselves.

pair-a-ducks

I thought it was funny that she was standing on a branch in the water instead of floating. I also like the way she was looking at me as I took this.

female-duck

Same duck, getting a snack.

bottoms-up1

See the bird looking at me?

i-see-you

Cardinals are very difficult to photograph unless one has a very long lens. They are so skittish that even a slight movement or noise will send them flying. I took about 10 or 12 pictures and this is the best of a bunch of lousy choices. The dense mangle of branches didn’t help much. The autofocus kept focusing on branches instead of the cardinal. Some day I’ll get a good picture of a cardinal!

cardinal-1

This is my three-headed, six-armed monster.

3-headed-monster

2 comments

  1. Great set of photos. I agree that it’s a nice shot of Sarah…………and then, there’s that “monster”! Glad it followed you home.


  2. Lovely set of photos, Carly. WOW that Mallard was striking! They are so much fun to photograph because of the beautiful colors and textures!!!!
    Looks like you guys had a fun little outing!



Leave a Reply

