h1

Therapy

February 28, 2008

Things have been rather difficult in our household this week. Without going into details, I will simply say that our lives have been turned upside down, but we are muddling through. As excited as I was about getting my new camera, I have not felt compelled much to use it with everything else going on.

This morning I got up early and decided that taking some pictures might be good therapy for me. I was trying to think of somewhere to go when someone suggested a local cemetery, while someone else mentioned a local waterfall. The idea of running water sounded like just what I needed, so off I went to the river that runs through downtown. At the suggestion of my Mom I decided to make my pictures a little smaller before posting them, so I went to my trusty free version of Irfanview and began making my pictures smaller. I would open, resize, rename, and save each picture. After saving about 10 pictures or so, I opened one of them only to discover that in one of my black and white moods I had reset the save mode to save in grayscale! UGH!!! Well, I have gone back and saved a few of them in color now, so here they are. One of them looked way too cool in B&W, so I left it that way. Here they are…

You can click on them to enlarge them.

main-street.jpg

river-1.jpg

river-2.jpg

river-3.jpg

The wind was blowing quite a bit, so the misty effect in this picture is actually blowing snow.

river-4.jpg

river-ice-3.jpg

This is the one I thought looked cool in Black and White.

I will try to post more later, but I think these are among the best I took this morning. There is something that I find very therapeutic about moving water, especially moving water with ice.

4 comments

  1. Photos are all pretty, but I absolutely LOVE the B & W. I don’t see any of the duckies that usually swim near the lower windows at Rundel. Rundel staff has fed them year-round for as long as I can remember. Wrong angle, or was it just too cold for them?


  2. I didn’t see any wildlife at all. My ears felt as though they would fall off by the time I was done taking pictures, and I was only out there for about 20 minutes or so!


  3. Very nice. I’m glad you got a chance to take some pictures.
    Water is always a good subject.


  4. Carly, the B&W is fabulous! Great capture…you can see through all the shades of b&w the sparkle of the water. If I were to give a title to your collection, it would be “frigid”. You have depicted that word quite aptly, in my opinion. Even the buildings look frigid set against the sky.



Leave a Reply

