h1

Cookies

October 18, 2007

On Monday afternoon it became evident that the congestion I was experiencing was a cold, not autumn allergies as I had previously expected. I take vitamin B everyday on general principles and it also has vitamin C in it. I also generally take a vitamin C everyday, although I ran out a week or so ago, and only just recently got more. A couple weeks ago Jeff had a cold and took Airborne, which he said worked wonderfully. He convinced me to try it, so I have been taking that a couple times a day as well. I felt the worst yesterday and this morning, but actually feel pretty good this evening.

Tuesday night I mixed up meat loaf to put in the crock-pot Wednesday morning for dinner. I didn’t have any eggs, so I made a mental note and then asked one of my co-workers to help me remember to get eggs before leaving work yesterday. She reminded me, so I got home, added the eggs, Sarah mixed it, shaped it, and put it in the crock. I plugged it in and went to bed. That was around 11 am. I awoke around 4 pm and eagerly went down to check on the loaf. Much to my dismay, it was at that point that I realized I had not turned it on! Raw hamburger and raw eggs sitting in the pot for 5 hours with the temp in the house hovering dangerously close to 80 degrees was more than I was willing to risk. Frustrated, but too ill to care, I went and lounged some. When Jeff got home I told him what happened and announced that everyone was on their own for dinner. I was much to tired/ill to eat, so I went to bed…again.

This morning I decided it was a good day for my wonderful shredded beef BBQ. I put a roast in the crockpot, fill it about 3/4 full with water, and put it on low for about 9 hours. Then I pour off the juice, shred the meat with a fork and add BBQ sauce. I then put it back on low for another couple hours. This is a wonderfully simple, but very tasty meal that my family loves served over hamburger buns or bread. I checked the crock pot 3 times to make sure it was turned on!

As we were finishing up dinner tonight, Jeff asked if I would go buy peanut butter cookies. Although I felt significantly better, I had no desire to go to a store and buy anything! Erin has been bugging for the last few days to make cookies, so I decided tonight was as good a night as any. I directed and the kids did most of the work. Sarah cannot eat peanut butter (or any other legumes) without getting horrid stomach cramps, so I had to make some other kind of cookie as well. I settled on ginger snaps since they were on the same page of the cook book and I didn’t have cream of tartar needed to make the snicker doodles also on the same page.

The kids began gathering the ingredients while I supervised the measuring and mixing. Both Sarah and Erin were excited to be able to use the Kitchenaide. Sarah made the gingersnaps and Erin made the peanut butter cookies. The kids could not find any cinnamon in the house, so we substituted apple pie spice. Jeff informed me that I should make a note in the cookbook that apple pie spice should always be used in place of the cinnamon. I did not actually try any of the cookies, but if the kids and Jeff are any indication, they are quite tasty.

Here are a couple pictures of the fruits of our labors:

dcp_3198.jpg

When the kids were very young (Erin was a baby) I used to make giant chocolate chip and peanut butter cookies a couple times a month. I would make a batch of dough and only have about 8 cookies from each batch. I was telling the kids about them tonight and Erin (who was getting tired of rolling dough balls) asked if we could make some giant cookies. That’s what we did for the second pan. We wound up with 15 normal sized cookies and four giants. The giants are what you see on the top of the container.

dcp_3200.jpg

One comment

  1. Wellllll, hope you are feeling MUCHO better!

    Those cookies look so good….hmm…I am ALMOST tempted to bake some myself! Nah. I’ll just look at yours and think about how tasty they look!

    I am exhausted. Been going to bed far too late and getting up far too early. Makes for never-ending days. I did get groceries today! I bought some of the Wegman’s kimmelwick (?) rolls and served them with a roast this evening. Mark went nuts! We also had salt potatoes, salad, and cauliflower with cheese sauce. (homemade) Everyone was stuffed before they even began and now I have lots of leftovers for the weekend. Hurrah!



Leave a Reply

